Call for nominations - Governing Board members

On behalf of the Society, I would like to express our profound thanks to the following colleagues for their dedication and contributions to SARMAC as members of the Governing Board:

  • Robert Belli, University of Nebraska
  • Maryanne Garry, University of Waikato
  • Lorraine Hope, University of Portsmouth
  • Chris Meissner, Iowa State University
  • Don Read, Simon Fraser University
  • Melanie Takarangi, Flinders University (Early Career Seat)

Their terms will end in Dec 2017. Accordingly, I am calling for nominations (or self-nominations) of candidates to stand for election to the Governing Board of SARMAC. Regular members can stand for election or nominate candidates. There are 6 openings on a 12-member board where service is in staggered terms of 4 years. The 4-year term is from January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2021.

In this election, one of the six seats will be reserved for an early career member who is no more than 7 years post PhD at the time of the election.

Board member duties include occasional electronic meetings, electronic voting on issues that come before the Board, serving on ad hoc committees, advising Board officers, and attending biennial conferences and the Board meeting conducted every 2 years at the conference. SARMAC conferences are held in great locations, with the last three in Rotterdam, Victoria and Sydney. The next conference will be held in Cape Cod, MA in June, 2019. Board members may also serve as President or Secretary/Treasurer during their time on the Governing Board.

Information about SARMAC, its Governing Board, and bylaws, can be found under “About” in the menu bar above.  Please read the bylaws if you plan to stand for election. 

As Executive Director, I serve as an ex officio member of the Board and will conduct the election. Please email nominations to my attention at by Monday 23rd October. Please check with people you wish to nominate to make sure they would be interested in running for the Board. The election will be conducted in November.

Kind regards,

Kim Wade

Executive Director, SARMAC